Article 14: Outline of Yamagata University

1 Academic calendar

Academic Year is from April 1 to March 31-

The grades of each faculty are separated into two semesters.

The grades of each faculty are separated into two semesters. 2015-16 Academic Calendar			
Academic Year	Spring Semester ("Zenki")	Wed., April 1, 2015 - Wed., September 30, 2015	
	Fall Semester ("Koki")	Thu., October 1, 2015 - Thu., March 31, 2016	
Entrance Ceremony		Mon., April 6, 2015	
Breaks	Summer Break	Sat., August 1, 2015 - Wed., September 30, 2015	
	YU Foundation Day	Thu., October 15, 2015	
	Winter Break	Fri., December 25, 2015 - Sun., January 10, 2016	
	Spring Break	Sat., February 20, 2016 - the date of Entrance Ceremony	
Commencement (Graduation Ceremony)	Faculty of Literature and Social Sciences Faculty of Education, Art and Science Faculty of Science Faculty of Medicine	Fri., March 25, 2016	
	Faculty of Engineering	Sun., March 20, 2016	
	Faculty of Agriculture	Thu., March 17, 2016	

2 Holidays and Breaks (in 2015~2016)

Holidays	Saturday and Sunday	
Japanese	January 1	New Year's Day
national	January 2 nd Monday	Coming-of-Age Day
holidays	February 11	Foundation Day
	March 20 or 21 (depends on year)	Vernal Equinox Day
	April 29	Showa Day
	May 3	Constitution Memorial Day
	May 4	Greenery Day
	May 5	Children's Day
	July 3 rd Monday	Marine Day
	September 3 rd Monday	Respect for the Aged Day
	September 22 or 23 (depends on year)	Autumnal Equinox Day
	October 2 nd Monday	Health and Sports Day
	November 3	Culture Day
	November 23	Labor Thanksgiving Day
	December 23	The Emperor's Birthday

3 History of Yamagata University

Yamagata University came into being in 1949 but its origin goes back to the nineteenth century with the founding of the Yamagata Normal School in 1878. Today the university consists of 6 faculties and 6 graduate schools, together with 1 institute.

It plays a central role in education and research in Yamagata Prefecture as a major comprehensive national institution with some 850 academic staff and approximately 10,000 students. Its idea of education is to offer specialized programs of natural sciences, humanities, and social sciences closely connected to each other as well as a wide range of liberal arts programs, and to foster global citizens who will play leading roles both in home and around the world. The university's academics aim to pursue and achieve excellence in a wide range of research activities and scholarship, and to contribute to development in the global and local communities.

4 Campuses

Each of YU's four college campuses are based in mid-sized cities surrounded by mountains, rivers, and other distinct regional features, making teaching, learning, and research at YU unique. The Kojirakawa campus (Education, Art and Science, Literature & Social Sciences, Science) and the Iida Campus (Medicine) are both located in the city of Yamagata, the prefectural capital. The city of 250,000 is completely surrounded by mountains including Mt. Zao, a world-class ski area. Down south, the Yonezawa campus (Engineering) is in the city of Yonezawa, a castle town sitting at the foot of the Azuma Mountains where the Mogami River, one of the major rivers in Japan, originates. The city is well known for the former feudal clans, Uesugi and Date. The Tsuruoka campus (Agriculture) sits in the city of Tsuruoka on the Shonai plain. The city faces the Sea of Japan and overlooks Mt. Choukai and Gassan, recognized as two of the 100 greatest mountains in the nation. The Academy award-winning film "Departures" (Okuribito) was shot in the Shonai area, one of the four administrative divisions of Yamagata prefecture. The Mogami area campus is a long-awaited, welcome addition to the current YU campus network. This outreach campus was launched in the depopulated area of northern Yamagata in 2005 in response to resident wishes to have the opportunity to receive higher education in the Mogami area.